Monday, January 9, 2017

The University of Iowa Writers' Workshop was the first creative writing degree program in the United States, and since its founding in 1936, the program has been home to thousands of remarkable writers. The program claims among its graduates winners of virtually every major literary award, including seventeen winners of the Pulitzer Prize (most recently Paul Harding in 2010), six recent U.S. Poets Laureate, and numerous winners of the National Book Award, MacArthur Foundation Fellowships, and other major honors. Every year, workshop graduates publish books across the genres, including these recent works of fiction & nonfiction by Workshop alumni and faculty:

The Terranauts, T.C. Boyle

Pushing Perfect, Michelle Falkoff

The Kid, Ron Hansen

After the Dam, Amy Hassinger

Winter Storms, Elin Hilderbrand

The Fate of the Tearling, Erika Johansen

A Truck Full of Money, Tracy Kidder

My Lost Poets: A Life in Poetry, Philip Levine

Mercury, Margot Livesey

Shelter in Place, Alexander Maksik

How Fast Can You Run, Harriet Levin Millan

Am I Alone Here? Notes on Living to Read, and Reading to Live, Peter Orner

Commonwealth, Ann Patchett

Diving Makes the Water Deep, Zach Savich

Island of the Mad, Laurie Sheck

The Minotaur Takes His Own Sweet Time, Steven Sherrill

The Exit Coach, Megan Staffel

The Secret Keepers, Trenton Lee Stewart

The Fortress: A Love Story, Danielle Trussoni

The World in Flames: A Black Boyhood in a White Supremacist Doomsday Cult, Jerald Walker

Writing to Save a Life: The Louis Till File, John Edgar Wideman

(Workshop alumni, please write to to share news or information about upcoming publications!)